The Mirror

wp-1482080273858.jpeg

At the corner of my room there’s a glass. It’s special because unlike that one on my window, I can see my reflection in it. I guess you could call it a mirror. Sometimes when I stand before it I can see myself, like right now. Handsome, you can picture that. But there are times I can’t really see myself. All I see is the blurry image of a lost cause, a stray soul. Last week for example. I arrived home quite late and as I was changing I could feel a chill inside me as I stared at the mirror. There was no me. No handsome face, just a lean silhouette figure. There was darkness inside me. My eyes were empty. *not literary. I heard my mother’s voice calling me from a distance. She wasn’t really that far, I’d just drifted off to another world of my own further away. I ignored her, “I’m tired today she can do the chores herself”

Just then the image turned darker. I realised what was really happening. I was not the sweet little kid anymore. I was not the innocent and harmless mama’s boy. I was someone else, rebellious, proud, self-centered. “Maybe I should be good today and help out,” I thought to myself . Then there was a flicker of light in my eyes. They were not so empty anymore. I felt better, composed. I wasn’t a lost cause after all.

Well, lesson learnt. Even at the darkest of times there’s always that spark in you. You just have to ignite and let it shine. A mirror never lies, it’ll show you the fairest of them all, it’ll show you the scars and the flaws, and your grace even when you don’t know your beautiful.

2 thoughts on “The Mirror

Leave a Reply

